I’m Amir Salihefendic, CEO of Doist, and This Is How I Work

Todoist is an old contender among to-do list managers, helping people corral their work into manageable tasks for almost a decade. It’s grown into a cross-platform tool that can be used for collaboration and project management, but was created simply because Amir Salihefendic needed a way to keep track of his work.

Amir is the CEO of Doist, the company he founded after Todoist evolved from a side-project to a full-time gig. He previously co-founded Plurk, a micro-blogging social network that remains popular in Asia, and now manages a decentralized team that collaborates on their work over 20 different countries.

You’ll never guess what app he uses as a to-do list these days. Here’s how Amir works.


Location: Santiago, Chile (visiting my wife’s family). Our home base is Barcelona, Spain.

Current Gig: Founder/CEO of Doist (not a gig, more a lifetime project)

One word that best describes how you work: Focused

Current mobile device: iPhone 6s and Google Pixel

Current computer: MacBook Pro from 2014

First of all, tell me a little about your background and how you got to where you are today.

I was born in Bosnia, but due to the war in the 90’s I grew up as a refugee in Denmark.

During college, I had a lot of side projects, and one of them was Todoist. When I started Todoist in January of 2007, I had no perspective of what I was creating. It was  a simple to-do list app that I created for myself to manage my own chaotic life.

Todoist has since grown from a small personal project to a service that has helped millions of people complete tens of millions of projects. To be honest, I never imagined that one day we would be the leader in our market and that it would evolve into a company with almost 50 people from around the world.

What apps, software, tools can’t you live without? Why?

I’ve probably used Todoist every single day since 2007. It’s my personal operating system where I have everything I need to do all in one place (both work related and personal things). I even have a name for it: Systemist 🙂 You can read more about my specific workflow here.

For communication with our remote team (we’re nearly 50 people in about 20 different countries) I use Twist, an app we’ve been working on for the last two years and just recently launched to the public.

Besides Todoist and Twist, I love iA Writer for writing and Vim for development. Vim is something I’ve spent a ton of time on-in fact, I have one of the most popular configurations (that I’ve spent years perfecting. I am unsure if this is a good or a bad thing

About

I am an Internet Marketer. I want to use this platform to Share my knowledge and recieve some good advice as well. Thanks

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

